His and Hers Quiche

Who doesn’t love seafood? My husband, that’s who. Booooooooo! Apparently he doesn’t believe in the over harvesting of our oceans. Sounds good, right? I’m still not entirely sure that I believe him. Anyway, for our Valentine’s dinner last week, I decided that we both needed a little food lovin’ so here’s what I did: His and hers Quiche, one for him with ham, caramelized onions, sharp cheddar and broccoli, and one for me with baby shrimp, garlic sautéed spinach, feta cheese and caramelized onions. I thought it was a pretty good compromise, recognizing our differences and accepting that we can’t change each other’s preferences. Sounds good too, right?

IMG_3665IMG_3667IMG_3678IMG_3685I will not pretend that I made this crust from scratch. I did not. Nor do I have any fantasies about making crust from scratch. I don’t. I do make pizza dough from scratch but that is for another post. It’s a Tenderflake crust and it’s taaasty.  More importantly, and from a busy mom’s perspective, they are dead easy. It’s all about cutting corners where you can and still turning out a tasty product. Am I right?

IMG_3696 IMG_3697IMG_3711Here’s the next thing to know: I use the recipe on the back of the Tenderflake box (they didn’t pay me, I swear!). While I’ve tried Julia Child’s quiche recipe and enjoyed it, there wasn’t a noticeable difference that warrants me pulling out her cookbook. Keeping things easy over here since we usually spend some time (post-dinner) picking up food off the ground. As far as the type of quiche goes, that’s where we get creative. We really like using crispy pancetta, and I like the sound of a roasted vegetable quiche. In my book: whatever is in the veggie drawer is probably a go. Just remember, if you use spinach, squeeze out the excess moisture after you sautée it.

IMG_3725Serve with white wine, a garden salad (or something like this) and a nice baguette. Delicious. I like that it can be made ahead of time and served cold on hot days (we’ll get there). And breakfast… it works then, too.

IMG_3662My sous-chef was not around to help that day. She was out with her Grandma making her rounds collecting chocolate… that her father and I would later on steal. We are such nice parents.

Leave a Reply

