Gazpacho

When I lived in the Cayman Islands, I used to eat Gazpacho frequently; and for good reason: it’s stinkin’ hot there! And even though we don’t experience the same kind of heat here in Vancouver, some days, turning on my oven is the last thing that I want to do. Gazpacho is the perfect, refreshing, flavour packed solution.

IMG_9526This recipe is so easy and created by my favourite food lady. I know I will be making it again and again.

IMG_9488Slice a hothouse cucumber down the middle and scrape out the seeds. Don’t worry about peeling it, the green skin makes this soup so bright and colourful. Roughly chop and set aside.

IMG_9491 Mince three cloves of garlic. Set aside.

IMG_9501 Chop 1 red onion, 4 roma tomatoes, 2 red bell peppers (cored and seeded). Toss each ingredient into a food processor separately and pulse until it’s coarsely chopped.

IMG_9498 Like this

IMG_9502

IMG_9514 Measure out 1/4 cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup of white wine vinegar (I used red wine vinegar and really liked the flavour), and 3 cups of tomato juice.

IMG_9508 Combine all your veggies in a big bowl. This pretty one is from my Grandma Herbie and I thought it looked so pretty with the red gazpacho.

IMG_9517 Add the tomato juice, olive oil, vinegar, 1 tsp freshly ground pepper and 1/2 tsp kosher salt. Mix well and chill.

IMG_9533 Attempt to feed to your sassy three-year-old. Then quickly resort to plan B…. a cheese quesadilla. * J actually did eat a small bowl of Gazpacho (with her quesadilla), but was quick to tell me that she didn’t like it – until I pointed out the cucumbers…I think that started to win her over a little. Maybe.

IMG_9540 Paint your nails Turquoise and Caicos, pour yourself a glass of white wine…

IMG_9537 …pop an ice-cube in your soup and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

